Nobody Really Wants Houses or Appliances That Are Energy Hogs

 I’m often asked whether as an EcoBroker certified real estate agent, I get lots of  clients asking about energy efficient or eco-friendly homes.  The truth is, I’ve only ever had two clients seek my out specifically because I am a “green” Realtor.  I’ve certainly wondered why buyers are more interested in stainless steel appliances than they are in Energy Star rated ones.  I’m doing my best to educate, one buyer and seller at a time–kind of each one teach one

But I had an epiphany the other day.  Nobody just woke up one morning thinking “I have to have stainless steel appliances and granite countertops”.   Appliance manufacturers and home builders marketed stainless steel appliances and granite countertops to consumers and made us want them. Then, even buyers purchasing resale homes started looking for remodeled kitchens with stainless steel and granite.  That’s advertising and that’s the way the system works.

Now some home builders are starting to aggressively advertise Energy Star rated appliances (which can of course, be stainless steel), better insulated homes, non-toxic paints, FSC (Forest Stewardship Council) flooring, etc.  This will make a huge difference in creating  awareness and getting buyers to choose substance and style.

The Home Owner Affordability and Stability Plan (HASP) may help you or someone you know. This $275 Billion initiative is designed to help home owners take advantage of historically low interest rates to either refinace or modify their loans. The loan must be owned by Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac to qualify.  This article provides some addtional information. I can put you in touch with a lender if you’re interested in finding out more.

Did You Know?   Households spend an average of $2000 a year on utilities.  Buying Energy Star rated appliances and heating/cooling equipment can save you hundreds of dollars each year.

 

Visit my website at www.goinggreenhomesva.com or Call me, your going green real estate advisor at 703-625-1358

One response to “Nobody Really Wants Houses or Appliances That Are Energy Hogs

Leave a Reply

